Misconceptions about Fat Acceptance

Why oh why is it that some people see the words “Fat Acceptance” and automatically assume that what we’re promoting is sitting on the couch all day, eating baby-flavored donuts and Mickey Dee’s, and very little else?

The most recent post over at Eat a Cheeseburger got me thinking about this again, but it’s come up before.

I’ve read some of our most common trolls talk about us using the words “nuts” “crazy” and “insane.”  You know the ones – the ones that seem to pick one of us at random, blast us with as many troll comments as they possibly can, and then (seemingly) get bored and move on.  Almost like they have some sort of awful rotation they use or something.

They honestly seem to think that’s what we’re all about: gorging ourselves on any and every UNhealthy food available and never – under any circumstances – getting any sort of exercise.

Really?  I mean, come on… REALLY???

These are the same people that went to great lengths to find a blog that I started nearly 5 years ago, find out my children’s and husband’s names, and tried to scare me with comments mentioning something that I know I’ve never blogged about here at The Long & Winding Road.  You would think that if they’re going to go through all that trouble, not to mention time, that they’d be able to find a little more about what we’re really all about.

They’d see that most of us espouse Health At Every Size – healthy eating and exercise for HEALTH’S sake, not weight loss.  They’d see that the vast majority of us are actually quite healthy and active.  I mean REALLY, how many of us blog about keeping ourselves healthy EVEN THOUGH we happen to be fat?  Most of us, if not all of us.

It makes you wonder: just WHO are the crazy ones here?  The ones who say “eat right and exercise and if you still happen to be fat, that’s okay”?  Or the ones who read the words “Fat Acceptance” and automatically get visions of supersized people sitting on a couch in their sweats with a baby-flavored donut in one hand and a Big Mac in the other?

Heh.  Like that question actually requires any thought at all.

6 Responses

  1. Baby makes everything taste better.

  2. It’s amazing to me that someone would go to those lengths to “find you out.” I guess some people just have no life. I don’t understand the purpose of commenting, just to hurt someone or piss them off.

  3. Great post! I think part of the problem is that these trolls don’t WANT to know, so they don’t bother finding out. Ignorance is bliss, as they say, and as long as they don’t have to see that fat people can be healthy, they can continue living in their small-minded, ignorant world.

  4. People ignore any evidence that doesn’t fit their previous conclusions. No matter how much we blog about staying healthy, the only post the anti-FA trolls will see is the one where you mention you ate a donut yesterday.

  5. Limor, I know. Honestly, I think their purpose was to scare the shit out of me. And it worked, at first, until I found the post where they specifically linked to the old blog. Then I had the same thought you did: what the fuck kind of life do these people have that finding out everything they could about ME was so fucking important???

    integgy, yeah. They don’t want to know. But I don’t think it’s ignorance; it’s willful stupidity. Ignorant people can’t help the fact that they’re ignorant. I’m sure these trolls have seen the posts I’m talking about; they just purposely ignore them. They’ve got their Blinders of Trollosity™ firmly attached, and nothing short of a nuclear bomb is going to remove them. It just bugs me that it’s right there in front of them, and they refuse to actually see it.

    goodbyemyboy, you know, I think part of what bothers me is that I’m the type of person that’s willing to examine my preconceptions and even change them if I see something that inspires that. I guess I just don’t understand people who are so willfully stupid. Why would anyone WANT to stay stupid? *boggle*

  6. Hey I uploaded a blog entry on evil people who like to haunt people online, check it out sometime:
    http://jeda21.blogspot.com/2008/08/web-trolling-article-on-nytimes-to-open.html

    PS — NO this is NOT an ad for my blog, it’s fugly

Leave a Reply

