Friday Fun: If I won the lottery, I would…..?

This is, of course, assuming it’s one of those huge multi-million jackpot lotteries.

If I won the lottery, the first thing I would do is get a cashier’s check for $500,000, get on a plane to Chicago, and when my grandmother opened the door, I would just hand it to her.  She’s been trying to sell the house for a couple of months now, and I have a problem with the idea of someone outside of our family owning in it (my grandfather built that house! Grandma designed it!  I grew up there!  My children started out their lives there!), so it would be a win-win situation all around.  Then I would go over to my childhood best friend’s parents’ house and hire them as property managers.  Hell, if S (the childhood best friend) and her husband wanted to live there, they could rent it!  (I don’t have a problem with other people LIVING in the house, just OWNING it. I didn’t say it was a rational emotion!)

I’d give my mother $100,000.  My stepfather died back in March, and while he did leave her a good amount in life insurance, she’s currently going to college and only working part-time as a tutor.  I’d be happy to help her be able to finish her degree without having to worry about money until well after she graduated.

I’d pay for my little sister R to hire a lawyer.  She’s currently going through some trauma concerning custody issues with her son.  She’s being railroaded by both her ex and the state, and is in quite a bind.  She needs professional guidance but can’t afford to get it herself, and I would be more than happy to help if I could.

I’d get all of our immigration paperwork sorted out, finally.  Actually, I’d probably have to do that FIRST, in order to be able to come BACK to the UK after surprising the hell out of my grandmother.  The only reason we haven’t gotten it all sorted out before is MONEY.  It costs money, just to have the government LOOK at your application.  Money is not something we have in abundance in this household.  So we’ve never done it.

I’d put trust funds away for all of my children.  Money they can use when they first go out on their own, or, if they so desire, to go back to the US.  I have explained to them that because of their nationalities (dual nationality in the case of the 2 youngest), they will have the choice between staying here or going back to the US when they’re old enough.

I would, of course, buy a house.  Or possibly have one built.  As much as I like the house we live in now, it’s not ideal.  The house itself needs work and the neighborhood leaves a lot to be desired.  Unfortunately, in our present financial condition, we didn’t have too many options when we were looking to move last year.  Not to mention the fact that we only had 6 weeks to find another place to live – that limits your options even more.  I do feel that, considering everything, we ended up lucky.  But if I won the lottery and had more money than I knew what to do with?  Oh yeah, we’d be movin’.  We’d probably leave most of the stuff we own and just take the sentimental items!  (At least that’s what Hubby’s always said.)

A lot of people would want to buy a car, but I’m not really sure that I’d want to.  Honestly, most of the time it’s simply unneccessary.  Sometimes it’d be nice to have a car, sure, but there are always taxis.  (And they’re not insanely expensive out here, either.  That helps.)  I have a feeling, though, that Hubby wouldn’t last a day or two without wanting to buy a car.  He’s the one that’s always complaining that we don’t have a car, whereas I don’t mind walking/riding the bus/taking taxis.  Especially now that Number One Daughter has a wheelchair.  It makes taking her out of the house a lot easier.  (She can walk, but she gets tired easily and then absolutely refuses to move anymore.  Believe me, trying to literally drag a 13 year old around is not easy.  The wheelchair makes it a win-win situation.  If she wants to walk, she can walk.  If she gets tired, she can go for a push instead.)

I’d get Hubby all the equipment he needs to set himself up as a professional photographer.  Hell, maybe even buy him a studio if that’s what he wants to do.

I’d start my own business – a yarn/craft store.  I already have an idea of what I’d sell and what I’d call it.  Winning the lottery would give me the capital I’d need to get it up and running.  And would allow for a cushion if the whole thing went belly-up.

I’d put a lot of money into savings/stocks/bonds/whatever – to earn interest and make more money.  If we win a multi-million ££/$$ jackpot, then we’re going to want this money to last the rest of our lives.

As you can see, I put a lot of thought into this.  Hubby and I actually do play the lottery every once in a while, usually when the jackpot is insanely big, and sometimes we get to daydreaming together.  While we don’t exactly hold our breaths expecting to actually WIN the lottery, the fact is, SOMEBODY’S going to win it, and it’ll never happen if we don’t buy a ticket!  🙂  So when we’ve got the cash to spare, we drop a couple quid on it.  Like the old McDonald’s commercials used to say…. “it could happen!”

Edited for hebetudinous troll Tara: bad at math tax?  What is a math tax?  Is the U.S. taxing you on mathetmatics classes now?  Do you have to pay the government a portion of your income for learning how to add?  Is there a Science tax?  A History tax?  A Social Studies tax? An English tax?  Should we start a fund?  Because you obviously need remedial English classes, and we wouldn’t want you to not be able to afford them.

Oh, and Britain doesn’t tax lottery winnings.  They’re viewed as gambling, which is also exempt from income tax.  Which works out well for me, I admit.

6 Responses

  1. Oh yeah, DH and I play the lottery too and have our own dreams of what we would do with the money. Like you say, you can’t win if you don’t play, and since someone is going to win, why shouldn’t we dream and hope that it’s going to be us one of these times? If we won big, we’d probably give some to my son and some to his wife (they have one of those “my money is my money, your money is your money” marriages), pay off the house and remodel it the way we really want it, fix up DH’s truck and my minivan, and then invest the rest so we don’t have to worry about income ever again (and could afford to travel now and then). It’s nice to dream, but I’m not holding my breath waiting for it to happen 😉

  2. If I won the lottery, I would. . .

    Faint.

    While clutching my lotto ticket in a death grip.

  3. I don’t know if I’ve ever thought of it, really. I know I’d be super excited that now, at least I wouldn’t have to worry about money for college. I’d likely put it all in a savings, probably invest some through the same company my parents use. And, I’d actually most likely give my parents half. they’ve been saving for retirement for a long time, and this way, maybe they’d be able to retire about 10 years earlier than they were planning to. Maybe buy a house, or something. Likely, I’d also give a good portion of it to charity, as well, since I can’t imagine what I’d do with that much money, when if I won, say 50 million, gave half away to my parents, lost a bunch to taxes, etc, I’d still have more than enough to live on, so why not give a lot of it to people/organizations who need it more, you know?

  4. Assuming of course there was enough to cover all this:
    – Pay off student loans.
    – Invest some so it would continue to earn for me.
    – Put some in a savings account.
    – Pay off my parents’ debt.
    – Pay off my grandparents’ debt.
    – Monies to my sister to put my nephew through college.
    – Visit Japan and Scotland.
    – Take a year off, go somewhere beautiful, and write a book.
    – Find a career that makes me happy without the stress of having endless jobs that make me unhappy to tide me over!

  5. I’d pay off DH and my student loans, credit cards, and mortgage. Then I’d pay off my brother’s student loans. With all those done, I’d take six months and go as a family to live in London, providing plane tickets (and hotel suites) to both sets of parents and siblings so that they could come visit for some time during our stay. From London we could fly all over Europe to visit the friends that we left behind when we moved back to the States four years ago.

    Naturally, I’d also invest and save a big chunk, as well as give away a whole bunch. I’d love to be able to make other people’s dreams come true…

  6. The first thing I’d do is pay off my and my brother’s student loans. The second thing is to pay off my parents’ house so that my mother can quit her awful-job-where-they’re-trying-to-make-her-quit and focus on finishing her PhD so she can be a professor. The third thing would be to buy a really nice apartment or house here (heck, if I had millions of dollars, I could actually afford a house near public transportation) I’d also put enough aside to pay for a PhD without funding. After that, I’d probably put it in savings and use a lot of it to pay for college for my cousins (12 of them; the oldest one is 20). And some for some really nice historical instruments (I long for a rankett!).

Leave a Reply

