Movie Meme

I’m totally stealing this from several people on the Fat Liberation feed (see sidebar to the right).  I’ve had so much fun reading others’ quote choices and trying to guess, I just couldn’t NOT steal it.  😉

1. Pick 15 of your favorite movies.
2. Go to IMDb and find a quote from each movie.
3. Post them here for everyone to guess.
4. NO GOOGLING/using IMDb search functions.
5. Strike it out when someone guesses correctly, and put who guessed it and the movie.

1.

XXX1: Ow! It bit me!
XXX2: What’d you expect fairies to do?
XXX1: I thought they did nice things, like… like granting wishes.
XXX2: Shows what *you* know, don’t it?

Amanda got this one!  It’s Labyrinth.

2.

Suddenly I heard a tapping, as of someone gently rapping, rapping at my chamber door. You heard me rapping, right?

Congratulations, ladykuri! You got it!  It’s The Crow.

3.

XXX1: My mom had to get a restraining order against my stepdad. He has emotional problems.
XXX2: Oh, I have those too! What kind of emotional problems does your dad have?
XXX1: He stabbed my mom four times in the chest.
XXX2: Oh.

Devi got it!  It’s Donnie Darko.

4.

Becky! Come here. Somethin’ I ought to tell you. Guess now’s as good a time as any. You’re going to have every young buck west of the Missouri around here tryin’ to marry you – mostly because you’re a handsome filly, but partly because I own everything in this country from here to there. They’ll think you’re going to inherit it. Well, you’re not. I’m going to leave most of it to, well, to the nation really, for a park where no lumbermen’ll cut down all the trees for houses with leaky roofs. Nobody’ll kill all the beaver for hats for dudes nor murder the buffalo for robes. What I’m going to give you is a 500 cow spread on the Upper Green River. Now that may not seem like much, but it’s more than we had, your mother and I. Some folks are gonna say I’m doin’ all this so I can sit up in the hereafter and look down on a park named after me, or that I was disappointed in you – didn’t want you to get all that money. But the real reason, Becky, is because I love you, and I want you and some young man to have what I had, because all the gold in the United States Treasury and all the harp music in heaven can’t equal what happens between a man and a woman with all that growin’ together. I can’t explain it any better than that.

Hey, MizH, you got it!  This is another one I didn’t think people would get.  It’s McLintock – the one and only John Wayne movie that I actually like (that I’ve seen; I don’t think I’ve seen ALL of them, but a lot of them, yeah.)

5.

You wouldn’t want to have children with three heads, would you? I mean, you wouldn’t want to set up housekeeping in a padded cell. Oh, it would be bad.

Oooh, Karin, you’re good!  I wasn’t sure ANYBODY was going to get this one!  It’s Arsenic and Old Lace – my all-time favorite Cary Grant movie.  🙂

6.

Components. American components, Russian Components, ALL MADE IN TAIWAN!

Yes, PK Tech Girl, it’s Armageddon! 🙂  (Actually, this is my absolute favorite line from the entire movie! Heehee)

7.

Y’all got on this boat for different reasons, but y’all come to the same place. So now I’m asking more of you than I have before. Maybe all. Sure as I know anything, I know this – they will try again. Maybe on another world, maybe on this very ground swept clean. A year from now, ten? They’ll swing back to the belief that they can make people… better. And I do not hold to that. So no more runnin’. I aim to misbehave.

Amanda got this one, too!  Serenity (God, I love this movie!)

8.

XXX1: Jesus didn’t have any brothers or sisters. Mary was a virgin.
XXX2: Mary gave birth to CHRIST without having known a man’s touch, that’s true. But she did have a husband. And do you really think he’d have stayed married to her all those years if he wasn’t getting laid? The nature of God and the Virgin Mary, those are leaps of faith. But to believe a married couple never got down? Well, that’s just plain gullibility.

The Bald Soprano got it!  It’s Dogma.

9.

Well, it’s good to see you’ve got your priorities in order. You care about a $75 bottle of wine, but you don’t give a fuck about killing a nine year old boy.

Karin got it!  It’s Mercury Rising.

10.

Why shouldn’t I work for the N.S.A.? That’s a tough one, but I’ll take a shot. Say I’m working at N.S.A. Somebody puts a code on my desk, something nobody else can break. Maybe I take a shot at it and maybe I break it. And I’m real happy with myself, ’cause I did my job well. But maybe that code was the location of some rebel army in North Africa or the Middle East. Once they have that location, they bomb the village where the rebels were hiding and fifteen hundred people I never met, never had no problem with, get killed. Now the politicians are sayin’, “Oh, send in the Marines to secure the area” ’cause they don’t give a shit. It won’t be their kid over there, gettin’ shot. Just like it wasn’t them when their number got called, ’cause they were pullin’ a tour in the National Guard. It’ll be some kid from Southie takin’ shrapnel in the ass. And he comes back to find that the plant he used to work at got exported to the country he just got back from. And the guy who put the shrapnel in his ass got his old job, ’cause he’ll work for fifteen cents a day and no bathroom breaks. Meanwhile, he realizes the only reason he was over there in the first place was so we could install a government that would sell us oil at a good price. And, of course, the oil companies used the skirmish over there to scare up domestic oil prices. A cute little ancillary benefit for them, but it ain’t helping my buddy at two-fifty a gallon. And they’re takin’ their sweet time bringin’ the oil back, of course, and maybe even took the liberty of hiring an alcoholic skipper who likes to drink martinis and fuckin’ play slalom with the icebergs, and it ain’t too long ’til he hits one, spills the oil and kills all the sea life in the North Atlantic. So now my buddy’s out of work and he can’t afford to drive, so he’s got to walk to the fuckin’ job interviews, which sucks ’cause the shrapnel in his ass is givin’ him chronic hemorrhoids. And meanwhile he’s starvin’, ’cause every time he tries to get a bite to eat, the only blue plate special they’re servin’ is North Atlantic scrod with Quaker State. So what did I think? I’m holdin’ out for somethin’ better. I figure fuck it, while I’m at it why not just shoot my buddy, take his job, give it to his sworn enemy, hike up gas prices, bomb a village, club a baby seal, hit the hash pipe and join the National Guard? I could be elected president.

And The Bald Soprano does it again!  Good Will Hunting

11.

I’d like to share a revelation that I’ve had during my time here. It came to me when I tried to classify your species and I realized that you’re not actually mammals. Every mammal on this planet instinctively develops a natural equilibrium with the surrounding environment but you humans do not. You move to an area and you multiply and multiply until every natural resource is consumed and the only way you can survive is to spread to another area. There is another organism on this planet that follows the same pattern. Do you know what it is? A virus. Human beings are a disease, a cancer of this planet. You’re a plague and we are the cure.

And Amanda does it again!  The Matrix.

12.

Men are rats, listen to me, they’re fleas on rats, worse than that, they’re amoebas on fleas on rats. I mean, they’re too low for even the dogs to bite. The only man a girl can depend on is a daddy.

Elisabeth gets the prize!  It’s Grease.

13.

If there’s something wrong, those who have the ability to take action have the responsibility to take action.

Well, it’s only taken 8 days since I first posted this, but FINALLY somebody got this one.  thegirlfrommarz got it, it’s National Treasure.  I like it, and I don’t care what you say.  😛

14.

From my mother I inherited a love of language and an appreciation of nature. She could turn a walk around the island into a voyage of purest discovery. As a child, I thought she was the most extraordinary woman on earth. I wasn’t the first son to be wrong about his mother.

Pyewacket got it!  It’s The Prince of Tides.

15.

XXX1: What’s the challenge, then?
XXX2: Rescue the damsel in distress, kill the bad guy, save the world.

Aaaaaaand Karin does it again!  It’s The Mummy (oh, how I drool for Brendan Frasier!)

21 Responses

  1. Number 8 is Dogma and number 10 is Good Will Hunting. I KNOW I’ve seen number 1 and number 15, but I can’t remember what they are. My only guess on number 15 is totally out-there and I don’t expect it to be right, so I’m not posting it yet.


    Ding! Ding! Ding! Ding!
    You got it! And you win……………. bragging rights. 😉 Sorry, doors number 1, 2, and 3 are broken at the moment.

  2. It wasn’t too hard, those two would probably have been on my list, too 😀

  3. 1. Labyrinth
    7. Serenity
    11. The Matrix?

  4. Oooh! Oooh! 7 is Serenity, 11 is The Matrix, and 12 is Grease (I watched that movie over and over and over again when I was a kid. It’s so great.)

    Um, back to lurking now. I enjoy your blog immensely!

  5. Number 5 is Arsenic and Old Lace, number 13 is Grease and number 15 is The Mummy. :o)

  6. Number 2 is The Crow

    Number 7 is Serenity

    I recognize numbers 11 and 12 but can’t place them. I HATE that! 🙂

  7. 1 is Hook, 11 is Matrix and 12 might be Thelma and Louise?

  8. 1. The Labyrinth
    2. The Crow
    7. Serenity
    11. The Matrix

    Some of the others sound familiar, but I can’t place them.

  9. #15 is from The Mummy

  10. […] info By shinobi42 Categories: Uncategorized I saw this meme on nuckingfutz’s site. I had fun guessing hers, so I thought I would do my own! Woo She still has a bunch of quotes left […]

  11. #4 is McClintock! I love that movie. My dad and I have this whole “if you’re my daddy and you love me” patter down.

  12. 12 is Grease!

  13. I think #6 is Armageddon. 14 is driving me nuts because I *know* I know it.

  14. Is #13 Spiderman?

  15. Nope, Mindy, sorry. Guess again! 🙂 (But I see what you’re thinking of. The Spiderman quote is “With great power, comes great responsibility.” )

  16. Is #14 The Prince of Tides?

  17. #3 is Donnie Darko

  18. Re: Arsenic and Old Lace: My mom looooves old movies and I watched (and still watch) a lot of the oldies (but goodies) with her. I personally have a huge crush on Gene Kelly… *drools*

    BTW: I think number 9 is from Mercury Rising…

  19. Yay! You got it, Karin! I was seriously starting to wonder if ANYBODY was going to get that one. I know a lot of people have never heard of it, but I love that movie. I admit, though, that a lot of that has to do with the fact that I have an autistic daughter and I loved how they portrayed the autistic boy. It didn’t downplay on the dificulties, but they included the wonderful things about children with special needs, too. (And I saw it right around the same time my daughter was diagnosed, so it spoke to me in a way no “action” movie ever has – before or since.)

  20. I kind of don’t want to admit I know the last one, but I saw it fairly recently….

    #13 – “If there’s something wrong, those who have the ability to take action have the responsibility to take action.”
    …is from National Treasure. Am I right?

    I knew the Grease one and the Labyrinth one, but those were both gone by the time I got here!

  21. YES!!! Finally, somebody got it! 😀

Leave a Reply

