Off-Topic Updates

Isis, sitting on Number One Daughter's Leg

Isis, sitting on Number One Daughter's Leg

The newest addition to the Futz family has a name.

Isis.

I know this is going to sound strange, but I let her pick her own name.  I had come up with a list of possible names:

  1. Bastet
  2. Sneezy
  3. Oreo
  4. Psycho
  5. Isis
  6. Kinkwa-neko
  7. Kinlee
  8. Luna
  9. Mittens
  10. Nedjem
  11. Nermal
  12. Gata
  13. Scarlett
  14. Zapaquilda

and one night, she climbed up onto my chest as I was sitting here reading my Fatosphere feed.  Just for the hell of it, I thought I’d read them out to her and see if she reacted to any of them.  Isis and Kinkwa-neko she reacted to, but I got absolutely NO reaction from the other ones.  I showed the list to the family, and everybody liked Isis.  So Isis it was!  And she answers to it, too.  The other night The Little Helper was sitting on the couch trying to draw a picture of her and couldn’t remember what the inside of her ears looked like.  I called the cat by name, and she came running.  I guess she likes the name.  🙂

I not only think it’s a pretty good name for her, I like the fact that it’s a hat-tip to the Egyptians, who were the first people to realize that cats can be tamed, and make really good pets.  🙂

My back is 100% better.

By Saturday, the only time my back hurt at all is if I moved my left arm backwards.  Like ALL the way back.  Any other time, it felt just fine.  And now, it doesn’t hurt at all.

Lesson learned: Number One Daughter is officially TOO BIG to pick up.  Ever.  Except in case of emergency, of course.

I type the way I talk.

I feel the need to point that out after a few comments I got on my last post.  Granted, they were from trolls, but I realized that even non-trolls might mistake the way I type for “bragging.”  If I would emphasize a certain word in speaking, I emphasize it in typing.  This blog is my “voice,” and therefore it reads exactly like I would sound if you were in the room here with me and I was talking to you.

Besides, if I were bragging, I’d say so.  Shiiiit, I rarely brag anyway – and if I do, it usually has something to do with my kids.    For example, Little Miss Naughty learned to tie her shoes today! THAT’S bragging.  😀

2 Responses

  1. YAY for Isis! She’s such a darling kitty.

    Isis was also the name of Selina Kyle/ Catwoman’s cat in the Batman cartoon I used to watch. ^_^

    Also *hugs* for you and yours, and don’t let the trolls getcha down! Glad your back feels better too!

  2. Honestly, SugarLeigh, the trolls didn’t really upset me in the way you might think. The STUPIDITY upset me, yeah, but I hate stupid people, period. If I had to pick my one pet peeve, it would be stupidity, hands down. It just gets on my last nerve, no matter who it’s coming from.

Leave a Reply

