Friday Not-So-Fun: Back Pain Sucks!

Monday evening, I had to give Number One Daughter a bath.  Because of her disabilities, I have to do everything for her.  It’s exactly the same as bathing a baby, only this baby is nearly as big as I am (she’s 13!!).  And this (teenage) baby likes to relax in her bath.  (She’s in there again right now, actually, not wanting to move aside from the little wiggles she does to show her enjoyment.)

Now, she’s not been feeling well all week.  Since she can’t talk and therefore can’t tell us exactly what’s wrong, we’re not sure what it is.  We’re thinking she’s caught what Daddy had at the end of last week (lots of trips to the bathroom and laying in bed).  I knew this, but she seemed to really want her bath first (I asked her several times, and every time I got a kiss as a response; as a general rule, a kiss usually means “yes”).  I got the water ready and went back to the living room to get her.  She stood up, stretched, and kept her arms up.  Think a baby/toddler’s non-verbal version of “uppies” – that’s pretty much what she did.  So, laughing, I picked her up and carried her half-way down the hall to the bathroom before I had to put her down and make her walk.

I shouldn’t have done that.  I should not have done that.

Tuesday morning I woke up in excruciating pain.  Which actually isn’t such an unusual occurrence for me (I wake up with back pain every day; we really need a new bed), except that usually within 30 minutes to an hour, it usually goes away.  This?  Still hasn’t gone away.  Just turning my head too far or too fast makes my back scream out in agony.

I’m pretty sure I pulled a muscle.  In the upper back, on my left hand side, between my shoulder blade and my spine.  Hubby keeps trying to crack my back – which usually works, for my every day “oh my god we need a new bed so badly” back pain – and I just end up screaming in agony.

Yet another reason why being the parent of a “special needs” child is NOT for wimps.  Y’all couldn’t handle what we have to do.

Shit, half the time I don’t know how *I* handle it.   Other than the fact that I’ve never known anything different in my life as a mother.  Number One Daughter is called that because she’s my first – first child, period.  (Never did have a boy, although Hubby wanted one near desperately.)

Better go see if she wants out yet… and hope I don’t pull my back again getting her out!

7 Responses

  1. Sorry to hear that you are in pain. But kudos to you for taking such good care of your family. Your right, I couldn’t do what you do. Unless a person is put in a particular situation you have no idea how they are going to handle it. It sounds like you are doing wonderfully. New bed wishes to you and your hubby.
    Cat

  2. So sorry about your back. I have chronic back trouble too, and I know it makes life miserable when it flares up.

    If/when you have the funds to buy a new bed (and if you don’t have latex allergies), I highly recommend a latex mattress from the Arizona Premium Mattress Company. For $1200 we got a wonderful latex mattress that we are using on top of our old frame and box springs. We just got it two days ago and it is already making a huge difference. If you call them on the phone, they will help you pick out the right mattress (and the guy actually gave me a little bit of a deal). They are slow (they custom-make the mattresses, and ours took about a month) and it’s kind of pricey, but it was worth it.

  3. Catgal, honestly, I think a lot of it has to do with the fact that she was my first. Until I had the other three, I never knew what being the parent of a “normal” child was like. I really think it makes it so much easier that way. Because for me, that’s simply the way it’s always been.

    Mary, if I still lived in the U.S., that would be a wonderful idea. But alas, we moved to the UK 5 years ago and there’s no way in hell I’d be able to get one of those beds shipped all the way over here! 🙂

  4. I knew this, but she seemed to really want her bath first (I asked her several times, and every time I got a kiss as a response; as a general rule, a kiss usually means “yes”).

    OMG that is incredibly CUTE.
    you do need a lot of patience and strenght (physical and mental) to take care of a child with special needs. if i already have a hard time dealing with moody friends on a summer course in NYC, i don’t think i will be able to deal with a child with special needs. nor with a “normal” child.
    you are indeed the real wonder woman.

  5. Can’t say enough about how helpful chiropractors have been to me. I know it’s harder to find chiropractors in the U.K., but there is also osteopathic manipulation, and osteopaths that do this are more common in the UK than the US.

    If things don’t improve soon with rest and icing, you might want to check those things out. Hope you feel better soon.

  6. Cyn, I know I’m biased, but a LOT of things she does are cute! 😀

    Wellrounded… actually, things are feeling a lot better today. It still hurts, but not nearly as bad. I’d say another day or two and I’ll be right as rain. 🙂

  7. She sounds adorable. I hope you are as right as rain soon. From one special mom to another 🙂

Leave a Reply

