Friday Fun: Customer Service Review – Evans

For those of you who don’t know, Evans is a plus-only clothing chain out here in the UK.  They START at a UK14 and go all the way up to a UK32.  (US10-US28)  They are usually a little expensive for my budget, but I shop there as often as I can.  Some of my favorite clothes have come from there.

Since realizing that I’ve been wearing the wrong size bra for… oh… pretty much my entire life, I found out I had a much smaller range in options… because I need a friggin’ F cup!  (I thought a DD was big…. DAYUM!) Evans is one of the few places I can get bras in my size, and though they’re kind of expensive compared to what I was spending on bras before, they’re a quite a bit cheaper than most of my other options.

So 3 weeks ago today, I went over there to try and find a bra.  I found the one and only bra in the entire store in my size, and tried it on before buying it (because as we all know, YMMV with different styles/designers).  I couldn’t believe the difference.  My breasts have never been so lifted in my entire life!  I got this bra, in white, single, for £8.

Since I couldn’t find any more bras in my size in the store, I went online and ordered this bra and this one.  They arrived on the Thursday following my in-store shopping.  That same day, I had done 2 loads of laundry in which I washed the first bra.  As I was hanging them out on the line to dry, I noticed that the underwire in one of the cups had already ripped through! I was so dissappointed.  I’d had it less than a week!

At the same time, the multiway bra that I ordered was ridiculous.  I couldn’t even get it all the way around my torso!  And when my 11-year old came home and found out that it didn’t fit, she decided to start goofing around and put it on…. and it’s tight on her!  There is no way in HELL a woman with a 38-inch torso is going to wear it.  EVER.  Hubby measured it for me… it’s only 28 inches!  No wonder it was tight on The Little Helper!  She’s only got a 30-32 inch torso, but still!

Now, one really nice thing about ordering from Evans is that they will allow you to return items in-store.  So since I had to go grocery shopping anyway, I went over there this morning.  I brought back both the multiway bra and the one that had already ripped.  I still had the receipt for the mutiway, but not one for the ripped one.  I wasn’t all that bothered anyway, I just wanted to show somebody what had happened – how is the store going to know what it needs to improve if somebody doesn’t say something?

Well, much to my surprise, they actually refunded my money for the ripped bra!  I didn’t think they would, simply because I had thrown away my reciept (and had already resigned myself to being out £8), so it was a really nice surprise!

Some people (who, I suspect have a bigger budget and thus better options than somebody such as I) say that Evans is mediocre quality at best.  I personally don’t agree, but even if I did, I’d have to like them for their customer service.  A lot of places won’t exchange or refund even faulty items without a reciept.  They definitely earned my loyalty today.

5 Responses

  1. I don’t know what your back size is, but please check out http://www.bravissimo.com for big cup sizes! A lot of sizes only go up to a 40 back size, although I find that despite being a size 22 UK size, I need a 36 H bra.

    Nice that they made that replacement though, despite having something of a captive audience in the UK

  2. Yeah, I knew about bravissimo. The problem with them is that their prices start at £20 and go up from there. £20 is about my limit of affordability, which makes them not quite the best choice for me. Which is why, as I said, I have even more of a limit on my choices than somebody my size who has a bigger clothing budget.

  3. If you’re ever able to afford them, Fayreform makes great bras (I like the Daisy, myself). I wear a 36 FF in them and a 34 G in most other folks.

  4. Amplebosom is a UK online shop that is great for larger sizes.
    I take a 48E and have several bra choices there.

    Ok one bra might be cheaper than another but which is
    going to last the longer? The more expensive one might turn
    out to be cheaper if it lasts much longer than the cheap one.

  5. I sympathise. I put up with about one bra a year from bravissimo, basically. Spend any less and the quality just doesn’t really cut it. I haven’t ventured into evans for bras as they never seem to carry my cup size/back size combo instore.

    Nice to know you got a refund though 🙂

Leave a Reply

