Friday Fun: Where do you find the funny?

You know how you can sometimes get in the kind of mood where you’re kind of in a funk, and you know that what you need is a really good laugh to snap you out of it?

When I get that way, I do any number of things.  Lately, it’s been looking up my favorite comedians on YouTube.  I’m stuck on George Carlin lately.

But we’ve got tons of movies, comedians on DVD, books (George Carlin and Billy Connelly would be my favorite two), and being the evil bitch that I am, I sometimes like to go over to the Darwin Awards and go through their archives.  I usually come away from that site with tears in my eyes.

Where do you go to find your funny?

Is there a particular movie that makes you laugh no matter how many times you watch it?  A book?  A specific TV show?  A website?

Or am I just weird and I’m the only one that goes looking for the funny?

26 Responses

  1. I like to listen to Jonathan Coulton songs. They all make me giggle.

  2. I effing love the Darwin Awards!

    Other funny:
    1. Engrish.com (not merely the pictures themselves but the commentary have been known to make me burst into tears of laughter)
    2. Any monster movie predating about the mid-1990s, when special effects got too good to be funny.
    3. Old musicals! The original version of ‘The Producers’ still cracks me up.

  3. Weird Al’s “White and Nerdy” video. Gold, I tell you. Absolute gold.

  4. Honestly Kung Fu Panda is still making me LOL whenever I think about it.. I swear I laughed so hard I almost peed and during the day I often find the funny in some random stupidness at work, like doing research for one project and stumbling upon a forum dedicated to weed with one person asking how to best store your weed.. to which the best and very laugh inducing answer was

    “I store it in my lungs, it works great for me”

    lol .. yeah .. doesn’t take much to entertain me really 😛

  5. I Can Has Cheezburger usually gives me enough laughs to last a couple of days.

  6. I second that on “White and Nerdy”. For me, the funny comes in the fact that I, a fat black female, am singing a song about being a white and nerdy skinny white guy. It is gold indeed. 🙂

  7. I fully agree with I CAN HAS CHEESEBURGER!!
    There is also LOLGay, LOLEmo, LOLJesus and my personal fav.:
    LOLBRITNEY can be found here:
    http://www.lolbrit.com/
    & here:
    http://lolbritney.blogspot.com/

    Also, FatalFarm is HILARIOUS!!
    website:
    http://www.fatalfarm.com/

    YouTube channel:
    http://www.youtube.com/user/FatalFarm

    Cheer up and have a blessed day!!

  8. I fully agree with I CAN HAS CHEESEBURGER!!
    There is also LOLGay, LOLEmo, LOLJesus and my personal fav.:
    LOLBRITNEY can be found here:

    http://www.lolbrit.com/
    & here:
    http://lolbritney.blogspot.com/

    Also, FatalFarm is HILARIOUS!!
    website:
    http://www.fatalfarm.com/

    YouTube channel:
    http://www.youtube.com/user/FatalFarm

    Cheer up and have a blessed day!!

  9. Okay, I had to go see for myself. I love it, but I do have a question.

    Is that DONNY OSMOND dancing in the background???? :O

  10. shinobi, I’ve never heard of Jonathan Coulton. I shall have to look him up. 🙂

    Lime, we had The Producers on just the other night! Hubby bought the box set with the original and the new versions together. I have to agree with you there – anything with gene wilder is bound to give you belly rolls!

    Cordelia, now I want to go searching for weed forums just to see this shit for myself! 🙂

    vesta, I LOVE ICHC! I’ve got a widget on my myspace page with the lolcat of the day on it. 😉

    Charlotte: Hee! 😆

  11. Oh yes it is Donny all right.

    This is especially hilarious to me, because I am Mormon as well. Donnie is like, our biggest Mormon celebrity, dancing all white and nerdy-like. Classic.

  12. Aaaand I just spelled Mr Osmond’s name two different ways in the same post. Srsly ned slep.

  13. 😆

  14. Your Aragorn/Legolas icon is making me LOL!

  15. George Carlin is a genius. I could spend hours watching his videos on youtube.

  16. Gorge carlin is the best. his opinions are usually spot on. I watch tons of his videos on youtube.

  17. I found it on avatarist.com – but I’ve seen it loads of places since then, too. They’ve got some really good ones on there, I have to say.

  18. I found it on avatarist.com – but I’ve seen it loads of places since then, too. They’ve got some really good ones on there, I have to say.

  19. I tune into a Shoutcast feed of 24 hour MST3k for a few hours. On the weekends we watch terrible movies and mock them in IRC chat.

    Also, I Can Has Cheezburger and Cute Overload. You can’t spend 5 minutes at Cute Overload and stay in a bad mood.

  20. I keep forgetting about CO! You’re absolutely right… I don’t think even Scrooge himself (pre-visitation) could spend more than 5 minutes on that site without having a smile on his face, that’s for sure!

  21. Ok,
    Hopefully the username will be more acceptable..

    I like FatalFarm, they are hilarious especially their renditions of Garfield comics brought to life called:
    “Lasagna Cat”

    I think LOLcats are the best along with LOLemo, LOLjesus, LOLbritney..
    You get the idea.

    I didn’t want to put a lot of links in case this is why I wasn’t approved earlier but Google is our friend.

  22. Sorry about that, guys… the spam filter must have been hungry. Y’all kinda got stuck. I un-stuck ya now. 🙂

  23. Thanks, I’m sorry too..

    Much appreciated, plz delete my extra comments when you find the chance, I hate repeating myself.

    Love the blog!!

  24. Lately I’ve been watching lots of British comedy DVDs to keep the funk away. Black Books, Fast Show, The Young Ones, Bill Bailey’s Part Troll. In YouTube, Eddie Izzard’s Definite Article. And today I just felt like coming to this side of the pond and watch Napoleon Dynamite. Also, a couple of weeks ago, I watched all Margaret Cho stand-up DVDs on YouTube, which was fun AND empowering. Exactly what we all need.

  25. Bill Bailey is a friggin’ GENIUS!

    And Eddie? Shiiiiiiiiiiit… I have a huge crush on that man. Is it weird to be attracted to a man in drag? Ah, fuck it. Who shives a git? I love him anyway. (And I have his entire stand-up collection on DVD, thanks to my wonderful Hubby.)

  26. Wow, I am so jealous. I have been watching as much Izzard as I can find through YouTube, and it is surely a must-buy. In a couple of weeks I’m going to NYC with my best friend who is also a hardcore Eddie fan. Since I’ve heard he’s quite big there, I am absolutely buying some of his stand up. He is oh-so-hot, and looks so much better than me in make up. Really cool stuff.

Leave a Reply

