Fat Chicks Sewing Circle

Reading the comments on this post, I realized that there are a lot of us in the Fatosphere that either sew or would like to learn to sew, and join in a Fat Chicks Sewing Circle.

So I made one.

It’s a forum, instead of a blog, simply so that everybody can participate equally.  If nobody shows any interest after a while, I’ll probably delete it, but I’m one of those people that would damned near give my left arm to learn to sew.  I want to be in on it, too!  So I figured why not take the initiative and start it myself?  🙂

So… if you’re a fat chick (or dude, I’m certainly not excluding the mens here if they’re interested) and you want to join in… well then do it!  😉

2 Responses

  1. This sounds fun to me. I’ve been sewing since I was in 3rd grade, and learned on an old treadle machine (a babysitter taught me to use it). I took sewing in home ec in high school, didn’t learn a whole lot there. Then I worked at an upholstery shop part-time in HS (learned a lot there), and my second full-time job after graduation was working in a garment factory. I learned most of my sewing skills there, and a LOT of shortcuts. So I have almost 45 years of sewing experience, and it’s something I enjoy when I have the time and am in the mood for it.

  2. You know, I didn’t take Home Ec in high school, because by that time I already knew how to cook, and I’d been taking care of myself and the house for quite a while (mom worked 2 jobs, so I didn’t have much choice). Now I’m kicking myself, because if nothing else, I could have learned how to sew!

    Ah well… better late than never, right? 😉

Leave a Reply

