Fat Documentary

While taking a break from my household chores this morning, I decided to check the Fatosphere feed.  I came upon Chrissy’s Fat Documentary over at Jiggly Bits.

And I can’t even put into words how incredibly awesome it is.

Most people wouldn’t have the courage to talk about something that affects them so much, regardless of whether it’s fat or some other aspect of themselves.  The fact that she not only went so far to do this for a class, but then posted it on YouTube for everyone and their sister to see, renders me totally in awe of her.

On top of that, she’s saying pretty much everything I’m thinking.  I’ve never been to Ecuador, but the things she describes herself as feeling, I think pretty much every fat woman can relate to (possibly the men, too, but since I’m not a man I won’t presume to speak for them).

One of the most mind-blowing times in my life was when I was a teenager and moved to a different town than the one I grew up in  – and was finally seen as just a girl.  Not the fat girl, just a girl.  I was still fat, but for some reason I wasn’t seen that way.  Maybe it was because there were a lot of the other fat people in that school.  Maybe because I wasn’t “that fat.”  Whatever the reason, for the first time in my life, I was looked upon as a person and not a physical characteristic.  Is it any wonder that I look back on that time of my life as one of the best?

I still struggle with feeling like people are looking at me and seeing only the fat that I happen to carry around with me.  It has gotten bad enough at times that I’ve been damned near agoraphobic.  Because everyone that looked at me – in my mind – was seeing just my fat.  A freak of nature.  (Man, my mind is just so nice to me, isn’t it?)  I’m just beginning to get to the point that I realize that not everybody would look at me and make a snap judgement.  Of course there are always fat bigots out there, but that doesn’t mean that every single person I pass on the street is a fat bigot.

Chrissy’s project is emotive and thoughtful.  She really puts herself out there in ways that I know I never could (at least not at this point in my journey).  As soon as I finished watching the video, I had this irresistible urge to hug her.

Check out her poetry collection, too.  This young woman is thoughtful, insightful, and very eloquent.  She deserves to be recognized as such.

And she’s given me a lot of food for thought.  (Puns.  I makes dem.)

2 Responses

  1. Consider this an electronic hug accepted.

    Thank you so much for your praise and kindness. I’m glad you watched the documentary. It took a lot for me to do, and I’m glad I did it, especially since I’ve received so much feedback. I’m glad you felt the message come through because I wasn’t sure if it was something to relate to, since it is so personal.

    Anyway, I really appreciate all the praise, and am glad that I could share that experience with you. Thanks again!

    –Chrissy

  2. Unfortunately work comp has no soundcard, but I will watch on home comp tonight if it is feeling cooperative!

Leave a Reply

