Grandma’s Fried Cabbage

I made my mom/grandma’s fried cabbage Saturday night from memory!  😀

I must say, I’m pretty proud of myself for that.  I’ve NEVER made it before, but I helped and/or watched her make it enough times that I’m pretty sure I remembered everything.  I did try to call her to ask her if I was doing it right, but she wasn’t home.  😦 

For some reason, I’ve been craving this stuff for a couple of weeks now.  I haven’t had it for years – I’ve been living here in the UK for almost 5 years now, and I can’t remember how long it was before I moved that I had it last.  I don’t know why I’ve been craving it, but hey – maybe there’s some vitamin in cabbage that my body was craving or something.  Who knows?

I’m sure there’s some Polish name for this stuff, but I’ll be damned if I remember mom/grandma telling it to me.  I do know that it’s a Polish dish, though, because I remember her telling me that her mother taught her to make it, and Great-Grandma got off The Estonia from Poland at Ellis Island back in 1922 (I looked her up and found her).

It’s insanely easy to make, though.  Just shredded cabbage (or sliced, whatever), pan-fried in butter or margarine (I used Flora), and some caraway seeds thrown in.  What I couldn’t remember was whether or not I was supposed to do something to the caraway seeds (I seem to remember Mom/Grandma bashing them with a meat cleaver).  When I looked at the bottle the seeds came in, it had a recipe that called for cracking the seeds… so I threw them on my cutting board and crushed them with my rolling pin.

I served it with a cottage pie, and while the Two Littlest Monsters were kind of ho-hum about it, my Two Biggest Monsters liked it, and The Hubster loved it.  Considering that The Hubster still lusts after my mom/grandma’s cooking (what can I say?  I come from good cooking talents!), that’s about the best compliment I can get.  😀

One Response

  1. Just ran across your blog, and that picture is making me hungry! I’ve never tried caraway in the fresh cabbage–it does sound good. The usual version where I’m from in VA uses some red pepper flakes, which is really tasty. A few slices of streaky bacon instead of butter is good, too, so you can crumble it up and throw it in toward the end. (Another American expat in the U.K. here, BTW.)

    Mmm, fried vegetables. I think it’s about time for supper.

Leave a Reply

