Just… just…. LIBERATING!!!!

This might sound strange, but I can’t help but be excited about it.

Through my voyages into the Fat Acceptance community, the one thing that really struck me was that people were saying “yes, I exercise.  I might not lose weight from it, but so what?  I’m still healthier than I would be if I didn’t.” (No, that’s not an exact quote, it’s paraphrasing.)

And it was like somebody opened a door for me.  If you read my “what’s it all about?” page, you’ve heard this, but I think it bears repeating.

I always viewed eating right and exercise as a means to an end: to lose weight.  I honestly didn’t think that any person – unless you happen to already be a stick-thin gym-rat – would do those things without the goal of losing weight.  But then I thought about it – and I mean really thought about it.  Since moving to this house (July), I thought I would be more active, but the truth is that I’m less.  Yes, I have more stairs to travel up and down every day, but I’m not walking the 4-6 miles a day I was in our old house (that was just to get the kids to school and back, if I went anywhere else it meant even more walking than that).  And if I keep this up, I’m probably going to gain weight – because I was doing that (the walking) for over 4 years.  So yeah… I need to exercise.  But it doesn’t have to be just to lose weight.  I can exercise just to keep my body healthy.

And I came across a video of a bellydancer on one of the FA blogs… and I couldn’t believe my eyes.  Not only did the woman show extraordinary flexibility and grace, but dammit, it looked like FUN!  So guess what I did today?

I ordered this:
Amira's Bellydance 101

I also ordered a couple of other bellydancing DVD’s, but that was mainly because they had them discounted to like £5 and I simply couldn’t resist a good deal.

The liberating part?  I’m doing this because it looked like FUN!  Not because I think it’s going to be the magic key that unlocks my weightloss potential.  But because I know I NEED to exercise (everyBODY does) and I think I’ll be having a blast doing it!

It’s so nice to know I can do something like that without the “weightloss monkey” jumping on my back!!!

Leave a Reply

