Fat Acceptance: Not Very Accepting?

Kate has closed comments on this particular post -as is her right (and I can honestly understand why she’d want to do that) – so I figured I’d use up some of my own personal space to put my thoughts down.

First, since I only recently stumbled upon the whole Fat Acceptance movement and everyone involved in it, I have to admit that I don’t know a lot of the particulars.  I do know, however, that Heidi took a long time coming to her decision, and it wasn’t one she took lightly.

The one thing that bothers me – particularly so, considering that I’m a “newbie” to all of this – is the way some people are apparently blasting Heidi and basically “kicking her out” of the movement for doing something so vital to her health.  If you haven’t yet, click on the link above.  Really READ what she’s saying.  This isn’t somebody who is simply too lazy to get off her ass and do something about her health – it’s gotten way beyond that point.  It snuck up on her, so to speak.  And I totally get that.  It’s easy to see in hindsight what you should and shouldn’t have done.  Not so easy when you’re in-the-moment.

So she’s taken the decision to have what is for her (I can’t stress that enough: we’re talking about one particular person here, not the mythical “they” or “them”) a life-saving surgery, and she’s getting flack for it?

What does that say about the movement?  That they’ll accept you, but only if you agree to their terms?  Isn’t that kind of hypocritical?

And yes, I realize that not everybody is like that, but to have a Fat Acceptance movement that isn’t accepting?

It makes me wonder… if I “accidentally” lose weight, will I suddenly be seen as a “traitor?”  If – for argument’s sake – a doctor finds out that I have something wrong with my thyroid or something, and puts me on medication that makes me lose weight, will that suddenly mean that I’m an “outsider?”

Will that mean that all these years I’ve lived as a fat person just…. didn’t happen?  That I don’t know what it’s like to be a fat person in this ridiculously appearance-absorbed society?  That I’ve never known what it’s like to be taunted, ridiculed, and even mentally and emotionally tortured because of the way I’ve looked?  The minute a person ceases to be “fat” or becomes “not THAT fat” they’re completely cut off from the very people that have taught them to love themselves regardless of what the scale says or the size of their clothes are?

That’s not just mind-boggling.  That’s scary.

3 Responses

  1. Well, first, let me welcome you to the Movement! We’re glad to have you here with us. As a fellow newbie to the FA movement, maybe I can help a bit with some of the questions you raised.

    If you lose weight, you still get to be a member. If you can advocate for fat folks (and for me, folks at any size) and think that much of what science says about fat people is bull, you’re welcome: fat or thin.

    It’s also important to reiterate that no, not all FA activists are like this at all. (In fact, if you want some similar points of view, head over to http://www.the-f-word.org or to my blog at fashionablenerd.wordpress.com) Welcome again!

  2. Why thank you, Nerd! (Okay… WHY doesn’t that sound right? 😉 )

    Actually… you oughta go check yer own blog. I already DID check you out, and gave you my $0.02, for whatever it’s worth. 🙂

  3. Heh. In all seriousness, not 2 seconds after I posted my comment I saw your name next to the post…all I could do was giggle (then check to make sure my glasses were clean!) But thanks for stopping by! 😀

Leave a Reply

