See? I told you I’d think of something to say, and quickly.

Well, here it is.

IBM Wants Parents to Put Their Kids on Weight Watchers

 Okay, so maybe that’s oversimplifying things just a bit.  But when you boil it down to its main components, that’s exactly what’s happening.

The more I hear about things like this, the more I cringe.  And the more I’m glad we don’t live in the US anymore!!

What’s going to happen is that parents (okay, not all, but definitely some) are going to think this is the “cure” to keeping their kids from becoming “obese,” and they’re going to rush out and buy it, thinking they’re doing the right thing.

But what’s really going to happen?

Their kids are going to end up with eating disorders and mental health issues.  Some will probably remain slim, through either binging and purging (bulimia) or simply not eating at all (anorexia).  Some will go to the other end of the spectrum, and be fat because, after all, they can’t do anything right, can they?

And yes, you’ll have some in the middle, who will believe that they’re still fat (even though they won’t be) and will hate themselves for every bite of food they put in their mouths, and for the fact that they just can’t help it.

This really bothers me, not only for the reasons stated above, but because I used to work in the healthcare industry (insurance), and they always had programs similar to this, but they didn’t shove it down your throats so much.

Where I used to work (when I worked there, it was the largest insurance company in america), we had a similar program – if you joined ANY weight-loss program (WW, JC, etc.), ANY stop-smoking program, or joined ANY gym, the company would re-imburse you up to $30 per month.  They didn’t shove any one particular thing down your throat.  I liked that – because it still left the CHOICE up to me, but it gave me the opportunity to do something without having to fork out all that money (after all, with a family of 6, money’s always been tight).  And yes, I did take advantage of it – I joined a gym.   But I didn’t have the “OMG YOU AND ALL YOUR FAMILY ARE GOING TO GET FAT AND DIE” mentality shoved at me.

It really scares me, as a mother, for the nation’s children to be subjected to this kind of abuse day in and day out.  As if kids didn’t have enough to worry about.  Now they’ve got to start counting calories at the age of THREE????  Jesus fucking christ!

Reading things like this just makes me all that more determined to try to teach my children healthy eating without making it sound like it’s a “rule” they have to live by.  Shit… the world’s got too many “rules” as it is.

Leave a Reply

