Tell me something I DIDN’T know!

From the No Shit, Sherlock Files (or as fillyjonk would say, Another Load From The Duh Truck)… this piece that is telling every fat person what they already knew.

Reported discrimination based on weight has increased 66% in the past decade, up from about 7% to 12% of U.S. adults, says one study, in the journal Obesity. The other study, in the International Journal of Obesity, says such discrimination is common in both institutional and interpersonal situations — and in some cases is even more prevalent than rates of discrimination based on gender and race. (About 17% of men and 9% of women reported race discrimination.)

Among severely obese people, about 28% of men and 45% of women said they have experienced discrimination because of their weight.

Institutional discrimination involved health care, education or workplace situations, such as cases in which people said they were fired, denied a job or a promotion because of their weight. Interpersonal discrimination focused on insults, abuse and harassment from others.

(Whatever you do, if you click that link, DO NOT READ THE COMMENTS. Just don’t. That’s all I’m sayin’.)

The last two paragraphs are pretty positive, I must admit. But… this is news? This isn’t something that we see every single day? People actually don’t know that fat people are discriminated against?

*headdesk X 1000000*

H/T Paul at BFB

2 Responses

  1. Oh my god! you said not to read the comments and I just couldnt pull myself away from them. **angry now** I cant believe people are so happy to join a group to fat bash. I’m so angry!!! I eat less than my skinny husband and i’m still overweight. man, i just wish people knew that not all fat people stuff their faces.

  2. Honestly, in my experience? It’s the fat people that eat the LEAST. I’m sure there are fat people out there that do eat a lot, but none of the fat people *I* know do.

    And I’m just like you – I eat less than my underweight husband does, and I stay fat. Of course, he could eat a horse in an hour and he’d stay skinny.

    Genetics. It all boils down to genetics. I’m convinced.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

